Top Five: Things to See in London

Living in London is my dream. After I graduate, all I want is to pack up a couple suitcases, hop on a plane, and spend my life in the UK. I’ve been saving for the past six months for my hopeful trip next spring (so far from now!) and planning my trip. There are so many places I want to see, but I’ve got 5 things that I absolutely must see when I finally get to visit!

5. Parliament & Big Ben   With the lovely photo up top, they’re just iconic! How can you not go to London and see Parliament and Big Ben! The view of these two buildings settled in the hub of London, it’s just something that has to be seen in person. Added bonus here, Westminster Bridge!
covent garden4. Covent Garden at Christmas   Honestly, looking up images for this one just overwhelmed me. Covent Garden’s architecture is stunning enough, but with the lights and the decorations, oh it’s just so pretty! This photo is from 2013, but it’s one of my favorites! I hope to be able to visit during the holidays, just to see CG!

buckingham palace3. Buckingham Palace & Changing of the Guard   So, I know I just said that Big Ben is iconic, but I mean, it’s the bloody palace! It’s so iconic, it turned me British there for a minute. I’d love to see the changing of the guard here, again one of the must see tourist-y type things! Plus, might get a glimpse of Kate, who is my life and style hero. Married to a prince, always in amazing clothes, and has the cutest pair of faux riding boots!

shard at sunset.jpg2. The Shard at Sunset   A few years ago, a good, good friend of mine told me that you could go up to the top of the Shard and watch the sun set. To me, that is the most amazing thing. It’s a stunning view, and I already love sunsets, so it’s definitely deserving of it’s place on this list! (Also for an additional few pounds, you get champagne, and you just can’t say no to that!)

london eye.jpg1.  The London Eye   This photo was used at my junior prom in high school. I was actually the one who chose the photo. I remember standing under the massive twelve foot high photo and thinking, one day I’ll be here. It was the moment I decided I wanted to go to London, just to see this stunning sight. It sounds a bit silly, but this photo has given me a lot of hope over the years. Being able to recreate it, whether with a camera or in my own memory, would be a dream come true. That’s why the Eye caps off my list of the top five things I just must see in London.

So that concludes my first Top Five list! I’m thinking about making the lists a bit more of a series on the blog. Travel centered, or general, I don’t know yet, I’ll figure that out as I go! What did you think of this first one, any good? If you want to travel to London, what do you want to see? Londoners, what are your favorite sites?

Until next time though, writing to you from M, Personally

Leave a Reply

